(Republishing, or using this info in a commercial product/website, is prohibited without permission. All other uses are permitted. If in doubt, please ask.)

(Back to main page…)


This wait type exists so that all lock modes have _LOW_PRIORITY and _ABORT_BLOCKERS wait types, but this wait type is not used.

The only _LOW_PRIORITY and _ABORT_BLOCKERS wait types that are used, during online index and partition switching operations, are:

(Books Online description: “Occurs when a task is waiting to acquire a Shared With Intent Update lock with Low Priority. (Related to the low priority wait option of ALTER TABLE and ALTER INDEX.)”)

Questions/comments on this wait type? Click here to send Paul an email, especially if you have any information to add to this topic.

Added in SQL Server version:


Removed in SQL Server version:


Extended Events wait_type value:

The map_key value in sys.dm_xe_map_values is 941 in 2014 RTM. After 2014 RTM, you must check the DMV to get the latest value as some map_key values have changed in later builds.

Other information:

This wait type is not used.